17 Members Appointed To New Mexico Cannabis Advisory Board | Local News


Boasting about the diversity of the panel, the state’s cannabis control division on Friday announced the names of 17 people who will be part of a new committee that will help develop rules and regulations for the nascent recreational marijuana industry. from New Mexico.

“I am delighted to be working with this exceptional and diverse advisory committee to ensure that real people, from all walks of life and from all parts of the state, have a strong and clear voice as the cannabis industry for adults starts in New Mexico. Regulatory and Licensing Department Superintendent Linda Trujillo, who oversees the newly formed Cannabis Control Division, said in a statement.

“Cannabis for adult use creates exciting economic opportunities for businesses, entrepreneurs and communities across the state. With the advice of this committee, we will continue to achieve our goal of making this new industry accessible, ”she added.

The Cannabis Regulatory Advisory Committee is scheduled to hold its first meeting on Tuesday at 9 a.m. But only members will be allowed to attend in person “due to current public health concerns posed by COVID-19,” a press release said. To access the video conference for the meeting, go to ccd.rld.state.nm.us.

Discussion and review of the draft producer regulation is one of the committee’s first agendas.

The Cannabis Regulation Act, which lawmakers passed in a special legislative session earlier this year, established the committee. He asked for members of various professional groups or qualifications.

Four of the newly appointed members are from Santa Fe County. They are District Attorney Mary Carmack-Altwies; Chief Public Defender Bennett J. Baur; Emily Kaltenbach, state director of the New Mexico Drug Policy Alliance; and Perry Martinez from San Ildefonso Pueblo.

Carmack-Altwies and Baur were chosen by their peers rather than the Cannabis Control Division. The law called for the committee to include a district attorney appointed by the New Mexico Association of District Attorneys and a representative from the public defender’s law firms.

Kaltenbach represents a cannabis policy advocacy organization and Martinez represents a member of a Native American nation, tribe or pueblo.

With six members, Bernalillo County has the largest number of representatives on the panel. Bernalillo is the most populous county in the state.

The law gave the division until September 1 to appoint committee members.

Trujillo, the regulatory and licensing superintendent, noted that the appointments were made before the deadline.

“We are moving swiftly and wisely to build a thriving adult cannabis industry in New Mexico,” Trujillo said in his statement. “Today’s appointment of committee members is timely and ensures that this thoughtful public group will be able to review every rule proposed by the Cannabis Control Division.”

Trujillo also said the division is committed to an open and transparent process.

The committee will advise the division “on developing rules covering best practices, promoting economic and cultural diversity in licensing and employment opportunities, and protecting public health and safety, between other subjects, “said a press release.

Committee members may not own any equity or investment in an authorized cannabis business.

Voting members of the committee are entitled to receive per diems and mileage allowances in accordance with the Daily and Mileage Allowances Act, but the new law prohibits them from receiving any other “remuneration, perquisites or allowances”.

Follow Daniel J. Chacón on Twitter @danieljchacon.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.